Scavello Awards Local College-Bound Students with Scholarships


    MOUNT POCONO – Rep. Mario Scavello (R-Monroe) presented $200 scholarships to more than a dozen local college-bound students at a ceremony held Wednesday evening in Mount Pocono.

    “I look forward every year to meeting the future young leaders of our community and awarding them with a small donation to further their education,” Scavello said.  “I send my compliments to the parents of these outstanding students.”

    Over his time serving as the mayor of Mount Pocono, Monroe County commissioner and now as a state representative, Scavello has donated a portion of his salary toward the scholarships.  Since the start of the program, more than $273,000 has been awarded to local students.

    The scholarships are awarded to students living across the 176th Legislative District who reside in the Pocono Mountain, Stroudsburg and East Stroudsburg school districts. Students must use the funds to help pay for expenses to attend higher education institutions.  They also must meet certain eligibility requirements.

    This year’s recipients are John Ambrogio of Tobyhanna, Cheyennelynn Rivera of Tobyhanna, Laura Namik of Pocono Lake, Matthew Planer of Tobyhanna, Evan Fardella of Bartonsville, Adam Barth of Tannersville, Vinelys Mendez of Tobyhanna, Keith Sepulveda of Tobyhanna, Emilie Chaparro of Tobyhanna, Marc Lopez of Tobyhanna, Shawna Blake of Stroudsburg, Rebecca Bailey of Tobyhanna, Patrece Baker of Bartonsville, Lindsey Esposito of Swiftwater, Julius Austin Kollar of Delaware Water Gap, Kaitlin Yocum of Tobyhanna and Abraham Silva of East Stroudsburg.