14 Local Higher Education Partners Sign Memorandum of Understanding with Workforce Wayne


Workforce Wayne – Higher Education representatives gathered at Workforce Wayne’s 5th Annual Meeting to recognize the 14 higher education institutions that signed onto a Memorandum of Understanding for Workforce Wayne in 2010.  By singing onto the MOU, higher education was recognized as an important strategic partner, provider of education and training, and provider of workforce development expertise.  The higher education partners also agreed to serve on and participate in the Pike/Wayne Business Education Partnership, support economic development opportunities, and participate in strategic education and training opportunities for Wayne and Pike Counties.  Schools include: East Stroudsburg University, Johnson College, Keystone College, King’s College, Lackawanna College, Luzerne County Community College, Marywood University, Misericordia University, Northampton Community College, Penn College of Technology, Penn State University, The Commonwealth Medical College, University of Scranton and Wilkes University.

Visit www.workforcewayne.org or call 253-5334 to invest in a future of well-trained employees, expanding career & technical education, and a bridge between education and business.

Photo caption:  (First Row, L-R) William Schaffer, Associate Director, Adult Literacy/Basic Workforce Development, Northampton Community College; Carolyn Tugend, Site Administrator for Delaware Valley Weekender, Keystone College; Jennifer Porter, Director of Workforce Initiatives, Workforce Wayne; Lyndsay Birmelin, Workforce Coordinator, Workforce Wayne; Marie Allison, Director of Continuing Education, Johnson College; and John Drake, Director of Continuing Education, Penn State University Worthington/Scranton.  (Second Row, L-R) Mary Frances Postupack, Vice President of Economic Development & Research Support, East Stroudsburg University; Jamie Guilford, Employer Relations Coordinator, King’s College; Kelly Lettieri, Assistant Director for Internships, King’s College;  Dr. Joann Hudak, Chair, Workforce Wayne; Dr. Michael MacDowell, President, Misericordia University; Susan Spry, Vice President of Workforce & Community Development, Luzerne County Community College; and Kim Vangarelli, Director, Lackawanna College – Lake Region Center.