Wayne County Chamber Accepting Nominations for Business Person of the Year and Community Achievement Awards


Honesdale, PA – The Wayne County Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce its upcoming Community Awards Banquet on Wednesday, October 6, 2010.  The committee has been hard at work planning the event.  Nominations are now being accepted for the Business Person of the Year and Community Achievement Awards.

The criteria for the Business Person of the Year are as follows:

  • Member of the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce
  • Privately owned company
  • Owner/Employees visibly active in the community
  • Sustained history of successful business
  • Innovativeness of product or service offered
  • Growth in number of employees

Former Honorees include:  Phyllis Phillips (Phillips’ Cozy Corners’ Personal Care Home), Amy Wood (East Shore B&B), George W. Stanton (Stanton Office Supply & Equipment), Thomas R. Glinsky (Glinsky’s Drug Store), Ralph & Kathy Losinno (Castle Antiques), Martin Rollison (Prompton Tool & Die), Cindy Williams (Morning Glory Gifts), Wayne Stephens (Stephens Pharmacy), Joyce & Dean DeBastiani (Wallflower), Steve Motichka (Rent-E-Quip),  Paul Meagher, Sr. (Re/Max Wayne), Ingrid & Klaus Eifert (The Alpine), Craig Smythe (Clemleddy Construction), Charlie Rossback, Matt Bowman & Jeff Reynolds (1st Alarm Security), Rob Grimm (Grimm Construction), Vince Benedetto (Bold Gold Media), Rudy Schemitz, Jr. (New Wave Woodworking) and Jeff Hiller (Trackside Grill).

Wayne County’s communities are shaped by the people who live in them, and especially by contributions of extraordinary individuals, groups and organizations.  The Community Achievement Award celebrates those who go above and beyond in their dedications and service to others and who devote time and energy to making Wayne County more caring, dynamic, beautiful, healthy and unique.  They inspire by their example.

The Criteria for The Community Achievement Award are as follows:

  • Current resident of Wayne County
  • Involved in the community or an organization in Wayne County, and have made a significant contribution to their community through a unique achievement or outstanding service in any area that provides a benefit to the community.

Former Honorees include:  Patrick St.Clair, Rev. Ralph Reed, Patricia Mohn, Kathleen Campion, Joan Esgro, Jackie Allegretta, Donna Riefler, Ken Bunnell, John Hanson, Ron Eldred, Mark Graziado, Patty McGinnis, Sr. Mary Rose Mitchell, George Compton, Bob Jones, Elmore (Squire) Haag, Tammy Ebert, Bob & Judy Muller, Verna Jones,
Dick & Carol Barrett, Tom Fasshauer, Doris Bryant, Cecile Grandjean, Joseph Hook, William Malloy, Catherine Howell, Pauline Glykokokalos, Tim Downs, Helen Beesmer, Kuni Holbert, Brian Wilken, Kim Erickson, Jeff George, Robert Knash and Steve Motichka.

Please contact the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce at (570) 253-1960 for nomination forms or with any questions.  The forms are available on their website at www.waynecountycc.com on the Chamber News Page.

Pictured are members of the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce Community Awards Committee.  Seated are Laurie Alabovitz Beahan, Chamber Board President and Donna LaBar, Executive Director.  Standing are Co-chairmen Gary Beilman and Daniel Card.