Wayne County Chamber Accepting Nominations for Business Person of the Year


Honesdale, PA – The Wayne County Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce its upcoming Community Awards Banquet on Wednesday, October 6, 2011.  The committee has been hard at work planning the event.  Nominations are now being accepted for the Business Person of the Year and Community Achievement Awards.

The criteria for the Business Person of the Year are as follows:

  • Member of the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce
  • Privately owned company
  • Owner/Employees visibly active in the community
  • Sustained history of successful business
  • Innovativeness of product or service offered
  • Growth in number of employees

Last year’s Honorees were Roger & Patty Hunt of Hunt Signs.

Wayne County’s communities are shaped by the people who live in them, and especially by contributions of extraordinary individuals, groups and organizations.  The Community Achievement Award celebrates those who go above and beyond in their dedications and service to others and who devote time and energy to making Wayne County more caring, dynamic, beautiful, healthy and unique.  They inspire by their example.

The Criteria for The Community Achievement Award are as follows:

  • Current resident of Wayne County
  • Involved in the community or an organization in Wayne County, and have made a significant contribution to their community through a unique achievement or outstanding service in any area that provides a benefit to the community.


Last year’s Honorees were Bruce Mackle and Brian Fulp.

In addition, the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce is partnering with ChamberChoice again this year to award the 2011 Healthy Workplace Award.  Two businesses will be recognized, one small business (1 to 49 employees) and one large business (50+ employees).  Any Wayne County Chamber member business who have adopted wellness practices in the workplace may nominate themselves or be nominated by someone else.

Please contact the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce at (570) 253-1960 for nomination forms or with any questions.  The forms are available on their website at www.waynecountycc.com on the Chamber News Page. A complete list of Honorees for each award can be found on the nomination forms.

Photo Caption:  Pictured are members of the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce Community Awards Committee.  Seated are Laurie Alabovitz Beahan, Chamber Board President and Donna LaBar, Executive Director.  Standing are Co-chairmen Gary Beilman and Daniel Card.