ESU to Honor Nine University Faculty Authors at Sixth Annual Reception


East Stroudsburg, PA – Nine East Stroudsburg University faculty members and authors will be recognized at the institution’s sixth annual University Authors’ Reception on Tuesday, November 9.  The yearly event is designed to honor university authors whose books were published during the preceding year.  This year’s honorees published books in 2009.  The reception will be held from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. in the lobby of Stroud Hall and is open to the public at no cost.

The names of the authors and the titles of their books are: Dr. Sussie Eshun, professor of psychology, Culture and Mental Health: Sociocultural Influences, Theory, and Practice (Wiley-Blackwell, 2009); Dr. Nancy VanArsdale, professor of English, Approaches to Teaching Fitzgerald’s the Great Gatsby (Modern Language Association of America, 2009); Dr. Cynthia Leenerts, associate professor of English, Passage to Manhattan: Critical Essays on Meena Alexander (Cambridge Scholars, 2009); Dr. Shannon Frystak, assistant professor of history, Our Minds on Freedom: Women and the Struggle for Black Equality in Louisiana, 1924-1967 (Louisiana State University Press, 2009); Dr. Charles Warner, professor of communication studies, The Team America Loves to Hate: Why Baseball Fans Despise the New York Yankees (ABC-CLIO, 2009); Dr. Sandra Eckard, associate professor of English, The Ties that Bind: Storytelling as a Teaching Technique in Composition Classrooms and Writing Centers (VDM Verlag, 2009); Dr. Laurene Clossey, assistant professor of sociology, HIV/STI Prevention on the College Campus: Coping with Controversy (VDM Verlag, 2009); Dr. Maureen McLaughlin, professor of reading, Content Area Reading: Teaching and Learning in an Age of Multiple Literacies (Allyn & Bacon, 2009); and Dr. Aneka Meier, instructor of German, translator of Lewis and Mary at the Battle of Gettysburg: A True Story by Frederick Easton Walter (Xlibris, 2009).

Copies of books by 2010 honorees authors will be permanently displayed in book cases in the Stroud Hall lobby along with the books of ESU authors honored at previous receptions.  The program will include welcoming comments from Dr. Edward Owusu-Ansah, dean of the library and university collections, congratulatory remarks by Dr. Van Reidhead, the provost and vice president for academic affairs, and presentation of honorees by University President Robert J. Dillman.  Light refreshments will be served immediately following the brief ceremony.

Members of the University Authors’ Reception committee are: Dr. Owusu-Ansah; co-chair; Leslie Berger assistant professor, librarian, and co-chair; Dr. Joseph Ashcroft, distinguished professor of communication studies; Dr. Alberto Cardelle, professor of health studies; Dr. Robert Fleischman, professor of sport management; Brenda Friday, associate director of university relations; Dr. Maureen McLaughlin, professor of reading; Dr. Elaine Shuey, professor of speech-language pathology; Douglas Smith, director of university relations; Michael Southwell, assistant vice president of instructional support and outreach, and Linda Van Meter, assistant professor and psychologist of counseling and psychological services.

For more information about ESU’s University Authors’ Book Reception, contact Ms. Berger at (570) 422-3597 or